Posted by Pieter Taljaard
The Rotary Club of Airdrie hosted students from Airdrie schools who attended the RYLA & RYPEN events. The Club sponsored the students, and the two Rotarians who helped the students to register, arranged transport and ensured that all plans run smoothly were Theresa White and Cindy Mayer. They were ably assisted by school representatives from CW Perry, Good Sheppard, Muriel Clayton, OLQP, WG Murdoch, Meadow Brook, George McDougall, Bert Church, St Martin De Porres and WH Croxford.
Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) is a leadership development program run by Rotary. While participants can be any age, most events focus on secondary school students, university students, or young professionals. RYLA events are typically 3–10 days long and include presentations, activities, and workshops that cover a variety of topics, including:
  • Leadership fundamentals and ethics
  • Communication skills
  • Problem-solving and conflict management
  • Community and global citizenship.
Rotary Youth Program of Enrichment (RYPEN) is a Rotary-sponsored District 5360 Youth Service program. Students from across the Southern Alberta District attend a weekend-long camp designed to develop their potential through a mixture of lecture style sessions and adventure-based learning. Its aim is to communicate to young people a series of ideas, problems and social experiences which will assist them in forming their own values and moral standards.  A program of thought-provoking speakers, social situations, and personal challenges is offered. 
The students reported that this was an experience that they would recommend to all, and each of them benefited tremendously from it.
The students who attended the meeting were Hailey Niphank-Pickard, Ashtyn Sharp, Taylor Foord, Adrian Dominguez, Andrea Tops, Hannah Bourque, Claudia Paul, Cooper Van Iderstine-Veremaih, Nathtaniel Tschrushuk, and Noah Melanson. 
They were accompanied by school representatives Lori Kirby, Elizabeth Bennett, Barb Tanner, Charlene Lipoth, Diana Stapor, Chelsea Dolan and Cindy Dickie.