Lisa Werner, District 6270 Governor (2021/22); Mark Ziebell Cedarburg-Grafton Club Vice President; and Linda Pierschalla Cedarburg-Grafton Club President.
Photo courtesy of Cindy Petted.
For sun lovers, the inaugural Rotary Ride on Saturday, May 22, was a shining success. Hosted by the Cedarburg-Grafton Rotary Club, more than 500 bicyclists registered to ride one of four routes throughout the scenic countryside of Ozaukee County. Afterward, cyclists and the public were entertained with music, a beer & wine garden, and a variety of delicious meals near the finish line in Cedarburg’s Cedar Creek Park.

We are happy to announce that the Rotary Club exceeded its fundra
    ising goal and proceeds will fully fund the club’s technical scholarship program for 2021-22.
    Many people, businesses, and organizations helped us reach our goals. First, we want to recognize our sponsors who supported our cause after our two major fundraisers were canceled in 2020 due to the coronavirus …
    • Lead sponsor: Ozaukee Bank’s Gift to the Future
    • Major sponsors: Bank First, Carlson Tool, Gilman Precision, Levy & Levy Attorneys at Law, Northwestern Mutual Life / Bob Chmielewski, Olsen’s Piggly Wiggly, Port Washington State Bank, Michelle Pries of Shorewest Realtors, and Wisconsin Women Cycling
    • Contributing sponsors: American Natural Premium, Ansay & Associates,  Arrabelle Luxury Apartments, Beechwood Sales & Service, Bella Lei Salon,  Bud & Kay Beverung, C.G. Schmidt Construction, Cedarburg Auto Repair & Service,  Cedarburg Light & Water, Collins & Company Realty, Construction Forms,  DiDonato Wealth Advisors,  Gibb Building Maintenance, Gollnick & Sons Tree Service, Grob Inc., Harrigan Solutions, Hawkins Ash CPAs,  Dick & Barbara Janssen, Kemps, Kohler Credit Union, Landmark Feed, Seed & Supply, La Rosa Landscape Company, Link-IT-Up, Gary & Sharon Newman,  Milwaukee Area Technical College – Mequon campus, Meijer – Grafton Store,   Neumann Developments, Newman Chevrolet, Barbara & Layton Olsen,  Orthopaedic Hospital of Wisconsin, Sommer’s Automotive, Nelle & Matt Steele, Thierfelder Builders and the Wernecke Family.
    We would also like to thank our in-kind sponsors who helped defray our expenses and provided the many volunteers needed to ensure a safe and healthy event: Arnold's Environmental Services, Babcock Solutions, Be3 & Z-Force, Cedarburg Chamber of Commerce, Cedarburg H.S. Mountain Bike Team, Cedarburg H.S. Student Volunteers, Celebrate Grafton, City of Cedarburg Parks, Recreation & Forestry, Eagle Eye Maps, Extreme Ski & Bike, Fermentorium of Cedarburg, Grafton Chamber of Commerce, Grafton H.S. Student Volunteers, Grafton Police Department, Graphic Design by Gail Betla, GU Energy, Henke & Associates, Houseman & Feind & Atty. Mike Herbrand, M Squared Engineering, Master Printwear, Newman Chevrolet, Olsen's Piggly Wiggly, Ozaukee Composite Mountain Bike Team, Town of Cedarburg, Trailside Recreation, Visual Image Photography, Wisconsin Bike Federation, Wisconsin Women Cycling, and ZuZu Pedals.
    More than a dozen individuals and businesses made donations to become a “Friend of the Rotary Ride.” They included: Dr. Nial Peterson DDS, the Braaten family, Norstar Aluminum Molds, Out & Out Eatery & Catering, Dave & Barbara Beiswenger, Beyer’s True Value, Joseph Carson, John & Veronica Hammes, Michelle & Patrick Krier, Barbara & Bob Orchard, Donna & Dan Pelkey, Kim Simon, Michael & Holly Westog and Edee Zugeler.
    Local media outlets were integral to helping spread the word. We would like to thank the News Graphic, the Ozaukee Press, Cedarburg Bridge magazine, Jack Henke’s radio show on Cedarburg Public Library Radio, and TMJ4 meterologist Brian Niznansky for broadcasting from Cedar Creek Park the day before the event. 
    Last, but not least, our club remembers four of our own who we lost this past year: Jerry Aussprung, David “Bones” Boyles, Jim Coutts and Dan Davis. We know you were all smiling down on us to make this a great day!
    In Service Above Self,
    The Rotary Ride Committee
    Cedarburg-Grafton Rotary
    Copy provided by Gail Ostermann