Rotary Club of Faribault

Posted by Murray H Hanson


In just 44 weeks, the Faribault Rotary Club will celebrate its 100-year anniversary on May 1, 2020.  This week’s historical highlight is from 1973.
Newly elected Mayor, Bob Larson, addressed the club with goals and aspirations for Faribault.
Congressman Al Quie updated the club on what is happening in Washington DC.
The club sponsored two delegates, Faribault Juniors, Therese Sorenson and David Mahler, to the St. Paul Youth Conference.
Layton Hoysler was nominated to serve as District Governor for 1974-75.
Arlen Erdahl, Minnesota Secretary of State, presented a program on voter registration.
Total membership stayed at 68 Rotarians for 1973.
A music scholarship was awarded to Rebecca Wickstrom daughter of Mr. and Mrs. George Wickstrom.
Our club’s 53rd president in 1972-73 was Rod Mahler who is now been a member for over 61 years. He was the sponsor of our 100th president, Amy Amundson.
The following was noted in the Faribotarian from the June 27, 1973 meeting.
It was like New Year’s Eve. President Rod gave a summary of the Rotary year that just ended and turned the gavel over to President-Elect Dr. Roy Anderson. It was the biggest smile that Rod had all year. Our Thanks to Rod for a most successful year.  Roy started out in shirt sleeves and laid out his goals for the club.  Maybe this was a preview of things to come. 
Which leads us to 1974!