Posted by Murray H Hanson
The Faribault Rotary Club celebrated its 100-year anniversary on May 1, 2020.  Each week the bulletin is published during this Rotary year 2020-21, I will include a brief historical highlight from our history of fellowship and Service above Self-starting with 1920-21.
E.B. Johnson, representing the district governor of the International Rotary Clubs, and three other members of the Minneapolis Rotary Club met with our charter members.  The first President of the Faribault Rotary Club was Frank W. McKellip. Meetings were held on the first and third Monday of each month and on the evening of the fourth Monday.
The first annual picnic was held at Cedar Lake.  Twenty-one new members were added during the second year.  A turkey raffle was held with the number 13 as the lucky number. Our 2nd club president was Fred U. Davis.
The first annual banquet was held in February. 
Meetings were held bi-weekly during the summer months. 
A committee was formed to help the Chamber of Commerce prepare City Planning and Zoning ordinances. 
We sponsored the Owatonna Rotary Club.
Our third Club President in 1922-23 was Anthony M. Bion.