Brochures promoting the Norfolk Rotary Club were made available today and will be distributed  throughout the community by Rotary members.  The brochure was developed by Robb Thomas. 

Captain Duskin of the Salvation Army, passed out a sign-up sheet for staffing the red kettle in 1 hour increments at Hy-Vee West on Saturday, December 21.

J.Paul McIntosh, Stan Christensen, Sherri Prim, Jim Merritt, and Ron McKeever were given awards for inviting guest to meetings during our recruitment effort.  Our goal is to recruit 20 new members by June 30, 2014.

The nativity scene was put up recently at the 1st Baptist Church by Robb Thomas, Keith Johnson, Ron McKeever, Dave Walter, and Stan Christensen.

Rotary will be putting on a Fat Tuesday celebration for our evening meeting on March 4, 2014.  The public will be invited.  Live music and a meal will be provided.  This is a community wide event, so members are encouraged to invite guests.  Sherri Prim asked for names of people who would like to be on the Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) planning committee with her.  Stan Christensen and John Schmitt are working on getting live music booked for this event.  Others who offered to help with this event are Liane Connelly, Christine Mimick-Keller, Chad Roberts, Terry Jensen, and Kathy Svik.

Kath Svik was inducted as a new member today.

A donation from membership was taken and given to the staff of the Time Square Event Center as a thank you for their wonderful service as our meeting hosts throughout the year.

Angie Hausmann, with the Norfolk Philanthropy Council, gave a presentation on how we can invest in our community.  We had previously given them a $500 donation for their organization.

There will not be a Rotary meeting on December 24.  There will be a club assembly meeting at noon on December 31 at which we will have a kick off for the Music in the Park sponsorship effort.

Submitted by:                                                                                                                                                                                John Schmitt, Secretary