Peter Klessens (scholarship recipient), Genevieve Sauers (scholarship recipient), Natalie Ziegenhorn (scholarship recipient), Betta Paganini (exchange student), and Emma Heydenberk (district scholarship recipient).
Scholarship recipients not present, Dan Gerber, Reese Romero, and Ashlyn Bower.
Four 2018 Scholarship Recipients attended a regular Cody Rotary meeting on Thursday, May 24, 2018.
Congratulations are extended to six High School Seniors who received scholarships totaling $5,500 from Cody Rotary and one Senior who received a $1000 scholarship from Rotary District 5440 at the 2018 Award Ceremony on Monday, April 30, at the Wynona Thompson Auditorium.
The Scholarship Committee of Jan Eldredge, Malcolm Blessing, Ray Schulte, Laura Vanderberg, Tim Foley, and Gina Morrison, evaluated and ranked twenty-two scholarship applications before selecting this year’s recipients of Cody Rotary’s scholarships: Ashlyn Bower, Dan Gerber, Peter Klessens, Reese Romero, Genevieve Sauers, and Natalie Ziegenhorn.  Rankings were based on the following criteria: service above self, academic standing, clarity and realism of goals, financial need, personal recommendations from teachers/employers/ community members, and extenuating circumstances.
The Rotary Club of Cody is one of 54 clubs in Rotary District 5440 covering all of Wyoming, Northern Colorado, and Western Nebraska.
For the first time this year, we were pleased and honored to award a $1,000 Rotary District 5440 Scholarship to Emma Heydenberk, who, as part of her District application, was required to write an essay about the application of Rotary’s Four-Way Test of the things Rotarians, think, say, and do – “Is it the truth; is it fair to all concerned; will it build goodwill and better friendships; and is it beneficial to all concerned.”