History of 5950

History of Rotary 5950

District 5950 of Rotary International is a group of 64 Rotary Clubs located in Central and Southwestern Minnesota. These clubs represent 41 Minnesota communities ranging in size from Minneapolis to Springfield. Our District is one of 529 Districts in 166 countries throughout the world and totaling 1.2 million Rotarians in more than 35,000 local Rotary Clubs.

The first Rotary Club in District 5950 was established in Minneapolis in February 1910, the ninth club in Rotary International. District 5950 is home to more than 2,700 Rotarians, who are a diverse group of professionals of all backgrounds, business owners, and community leaders living or working in their respective communities. We welcome you to our website and hope that you will enjoy learning more about the work of our Rotarians in District 5950 clubs and in Rotary International.

District 5950 covers the portion of Minnesota which is south of the southern boundaries of the counties of Wilkin, Otter Tail, Todd, and Morrison; west of the Mississippi River, the Minnesota River and U.S. Highway 169; northwest of the northeastern boundaries of the counties of Lac Qui Parle and Yellow Medicine, and east of the eastern boundaries of the counties of Yellow Medicine, Lyon, Murray, and Nobles, excepting therefrom the territorial limits of the Rotary Club of North Mankato, including the territorial limits of the Rotary Clubs of Great River (Sauk Rapids/Sartell), Burnsville, Apple Valley, Eagan and Shakopee.
District 5950 Rotarians plant trees in local communities as part of a challenge to plant one tree for every member.  District 5950 planted over 2600 trees!
List of Past District 5950 Governors
Minneapolis City of Lakes
Edina Morningside
1988-89 Jerry Hirschfeld St. Cloud
1989-90 Kenneth L. Skold St. Louis Park
1990-91 Daniel P. Hallberg Edina
1991-92 John Cole Shakopee
1992-93 Everett Driskill Excelsior
1993-94 John M. Diracles* Edina
1994-95 J. Thomas Parry Golden Valley
1995-96 Robert J. Alpers Burnseville
1996-97 Thomas M. Thorfinnson Eden Prarie Noon
1997-98 William P. Maney St. Cloud
1998-99 John S. Halvorson Buffalo
1999-00 Marlene "Moe" Otte Sauk Centre
2000-01 Donald R. Backstrom* Minneapolis-City of Lakes
2001-02 Holly Callen Minneapolis-University
2002-03 Paul O. Bierhaus St. Louis Park
2003-04 Mike Mullin St. Cloud
3004-05 Ronald R. Axel, DDS Hopkins
2005-06 Dan Barnett Bloomington
2006-07 Rod Shilkrot St. Louis Park
2007-08 Tammy Laurent Shakopee
2008-09 Chris Holm Minneapolis #9
2009-10 Sandy Schley Edina 
2010-11 Larry Zilliox Alexandria
2011-12 Chuck Berg Shakopee
2012-13 Bob Stowell
Burnsville Breakfast
2013-14 Diann Kirby
Bloomington Noon
2014-15 Jim Nelson
Minneapolis City of Lakes
2015-16 Tim Murphy
2016-17 Mark Hegstrom
Edina Morningside
2017-18 Bob Halagan
2018-19 Irene Kelly
Eden Prairie AM
2019-20 Russ Michaletz
Minneapolis City of Lakes
2020-21 Thomas Gump
Edina Morningside
2021-22 Marianna Khauv