(Austin) – Dr Greg Smith, chief executive of Clear Creek ISD in League City, was named Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) by the Texas Association of School Boards in Austin September 28.   Smith, superintendent of Clear Creek ISD for four years, serves more than 40,000 students and has 27 years of administrative experience. Smith earned a bachelor’s degree at Oakland University, master’s degree at the University of Houston-Clear Lake, and doctorate at Texas A&M University.

State finalists for the prestigious award included René Gutiérrez, Edinburg CISD, ESC 1; Charles Dupre, Pflugerville ISD, ESC 13; Dennis McEntire, Presidio ISD, ESC 18; and Michael Zolkoski, Ysleta ISD, ESC 19. 

SOTY candidates are chosen for their dedication to improving educational quality, board/superintendent relations, student achievement, and commitment to public support and involvement in education. Superintendents from any of the state’s 1,034 school districts are eligible for nomination by their local boards of trustees. District nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which submits one nominee per region to the state selection committee. Smith received an award and a Superintendent of the Year ring from Balfour, program underwriter. State finalists also received an award from Balfour.

Regional winners nominated by the ESCs were Brett Belmarez, Skidmore-Tynan ISD, ESC 2; Malcolm Nash, Sabine Pass ISD, ESC 5; Darrell Myers, Livingston ISD, ESC 6; J. Glenn Hambrick, Carthage ISD, ESC 7; Rose Mary Neshyba, Red Lick ISD, ESC 8; John Baker, Seymour ISD, ESC 9; Ken Helvey, Allen ISD, ESC 10; G. Wayne Rotan, Glen Rose ISD, ESC 11; Robert Muller, Killeen ISD, ESC 12; Joey Light, Wylie ISD, ESC 14; Walter Holik, Jr., Wall ISD, ESC 15; Mike Wartes, Canyon ISD, ESC 16; Deanna Logan, Ralls ISD, ESC 17; and Gail Siller, Fort Sam Houston ISD, ESC 20.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school districts. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 4.9 million students.