Club Awards
  • Medium Club of the Year (2014-2015, and 2017-2018)
  • Small Club President of the Year (2009-2010)
  • Featured on front page of (2010), in Rotary Reconnections (2009), Rotary World Magazine (2009), The Rotarian Magazine (2011)
  • Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center Finalist for Small Group of Year (2012)
  • District 5890 Membership Growth Award (2011)
  • District 5890 Literacy Project Award (2015)
  • Skyliner D’Lisa Simmons has won all 3 of Rotary International Top Awards (1stfemale in Texas), which at the time had only been achieved by 350 Rotarians worldwide. Skyliner Vicki Brentin won Rotary International’s Service Above SelfAward (2012)
  • Skyliner Michelle Bohreer was awarded District 5890 Rotarian of the Year (2015)
  • Skyliner Koy Murphy was awarded District 5890 Rising Star of the Year (2015)
  • Skyliner Corbett Parker was awarded District 5890 Rotarian that brought in Most Members (2008-09, and 2011-2012)
July 2009: RCHS was featured in Rotary World Magazine

June 2009: Meghan Zimmer was awarded RCHS' Rotarian of the Year, and presented with a Paul Harris Fellow. 2009-10 President Dona Burke was sworn in at RCHS' Installation Dinner and Crawfish Boil.

Member David Eagleman's book "Sum: Forty Tales From the Afterlives" hit Amazon Top 40 and was featured in many publications including:
     * Time Magazine = "Eagleman is a true original. Read Sum and be amazed. Reread it and be reamazed all over again."

     * New York Times Book Review  = "This delightful, thought-provoking little collection belongs to that category of strange, unclassifiable books that will haunt the reader long after the last page has been turned. It is full of tangential insights into the human condition and poetic thought experiments.... It is also full of touching moments and glorious wit of the sort one only hopes will be in copious supply on the other side." 

May 7, 2009: RCHS had a simply fantastic inaugural fundrasing event honoring Judge Edith Jones (Chief Judge of U.S. Court of Appeals- 5th Circuit) and Dean T. Gerald Treece (nationally-known constitutional law scholar and coach for 101 moot court championships) for their impact on community. Keynote address on service and leadership was given by Dean Ken Starr (one of the finest legal minds and Dean of Pepperdine University School of Law). Houston Dynamos' Oliver Luck admirably served as the Master of Ceremonies. There was a great crowd including many notable guests that ranged from judges, elected officials, well-known Houston philanthropists, and close friends of Rotary Houston Skyline.

May 2009: RCHS was featured in Rotary Reconnections Magazine

April 2009: Corbett Parker was awarded District 5890 2009-10 Small Club President of the Year, and RCHS was presented with Membership Development Award.

January 2009 : Rotary Foundation officially awarded RCHS $10,700 towards Matching Grant to combat Dengue Fever, which with matched contribution of District 5890 and Rotary International, the project totals $21,400.

November 2008: Awarded $4,000 Matching Grant for our project to combat Dengue Fever in the Philippines through education, mister machines, and other resources needed. D'Lisa Simmons led us in successful application along with our partner clubs RC of Galleria and RC of Houston.

October 2008: Awarded $2,000 District Simplified Grant for our project to build a garden at Port of Houston school to educate about sustainability, nutrition, and agriculture. Duncan Child (with help from Meghan Zimmer) led us in successful application. Overall, with matched contribution of District 5890, the project will total around $3,000.

July 27, 2008: Special Representative Jeff Gray and Michael Barnes were presented "Service Above Self" Awards at our Charter Dinner for their tremendous influence in our early development. Houston Mayor Bill White gave keynote address. Corbett Parker was presented official Rotary International charter by Past-District Governor Jeff Tallas. 2008-09 RCHS Officers were sworn in by Rhonda Kennedy.

July 23, 2008: The RiverOaks Examiner wrote a nice article about our founding and charter dinner.

Dona Burke was named Rotarian of the Year (2nd year in a row) for her service to the Rotary Club of La Porte.

June 24, 2008: Club officially chartered by Rotary International with 24 charter members.


May 29, 2008: We sent in our charter paperwork to Rotary International

May 15, 2008: Our Sponsor, the Rotary Club of Houston officially presented us a check for our seed money. Picture of Corbett receiving and thank you letter written and read at RCH meeting

April 26, 2008: At District 5890 Conference, D'Lisa Simmons was awarded a District Governor Award by DG Jeff Tallas 2000-01 Past Rotary International President Frank Devlyn visited RCHS

February 12, 2008: The Rotary Club of Houston Skyline held its first informational meeting.