2018 Wayzata Memorial Education Foundation
Scholarship Winners!
One of the favorite meetings of the year is when the best and brightest from Wayzata High School come and join us for lunch.  This year the WMEF was able to award 16 $1,000 scholarships.  This is not possible without the donations and fund raising that Wayzata Rotary does.  Members - THANK YOU!
This year while munching on tacos, we got to know each student, where they are planning on going to school, and each shared what they were most proud of.  This year's Q&A with the students was fantastic!  This group of scholars was very articulate, engaged with members in answering questions, and were very open and honest with their observations.  
Thank you Scott Gengler for hosting the luncheon and to the WMEF committee membes, Bruce Lea, Tom Vettel, and Chris Pierson for attending and participating in the Award Program on May 14.  You earned an attendance credit!
2018 Scholars:
Nicole Aadalen - U of MN - Mankato (physical therapy, sports medicine, anesthesiology)
Ben Basten - Northern Michigan University (software engineering)
Anna Bixby - Miami University in Ohio (public policy)
Claire Bohlig - Northeastern University (mechanical engineering)
Joseph Ching - Purdue (biological engineering)
Zainab Hasan - University of Southern California (global health)
Piljoo (Matthew) Jeon - University of Southern California (scientific/technology research)
Nicholas Kaye - U of MN - Twin Cities (mechanical engineering - automotive, medical, or construction)
Mitchell King - U of WI - Madison (industrial engineering and music)
Reya Magan - Duke University (bio medical engineering and neuroscience)
Sami Maldonado - U of MN - Twin Cities (food systems and sustainable studies)
Mae Peterson - Purdue (engineering)
Aanish Puri - Northeastern University (biology or biochemistry)
Sanjuktha Sivaan - U of MN - Twin Cities (biochemistry)
Drew Smith - U of MN - Duluth (sports management)
Amy Zhang - Northwestern University (economics and stats)