Nearly 300 Grand Bahama Rotarians and friends attended the annual Rotary Ball held Saturday, March 18 at the Convention Centre at the Westin at Our Lucaya in Freeport. District Gov Owen Freed was in attendance and addressed the gathering.

It was a night of dancing, great food and a celebration of Rotary on Saturday as nearly 300 Rotarians from the three clubs in Grand Bahama gathered together. Rotarians, spouses, family and friends of members in the Rotary Club of Freeport, Rotary Club of Lucaya and Rotary Club of Grand Bahama Sunrise enjoyed a fine meal and a great time of fellowship at the annual event.

Past President of the Rotary Club of Freeport Roger Pinder and long-time friend of Rotary Kay Hardy were masters of ceremonies for the evening and the popular band Conch Juice kept the dance floor busy for several hours. (It didn't take much encouragement to fill the dance floor either!)

After a round of toasts and rousing renditions of the American (the GB Rotary clubs are part of District 6990 which is made up of mostly Florida-based Rotary clubs, therefore the American protocols are recognised at official Rotary events) and Bahamian national anthems by Minerva Kemp and Ashley Mordas respectively, District Governor Owen Freed briefly addressed the gathering, sharing some humourous experiences around the district.

The evening quickly focused on fun, as was the organisers' full intention for this year's annual ball. With a relatively intimate setting and enthusiastic crowd, it seemed that the evening was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

The prep and serving crews at Our Lucaya are to be commended for their prompt and efficient service and excellent food.

Congratulations to the entire Rotary Ball 2006 Committee for a successful and enjoyable evening!

2006 Rotary Ball Committee
Chairman: David Long, President, RCO Lucaya
Treasurer: Richard Bates, Past President, RCO Freeport
Secretary: Lisbeth Rutzou, RCO Lucaya
Decorations: Gwen Rolle, RCO Lucaya
Programme: Leigh Termath, RCO Freeport
Ron Jones, PP, RCO Sunrise
Don Churchill, PE, RCO GB Sunrise
Tom Leeder, President, RCO GB Sunrise
Mike Stafford, PE, RCO Freeport
Sonny Waugh, PP, RCO Freeport
Dudley Powell, Past ADG, PP, RCO Lucaya