Paul Harris Awards                                                                 


Paul Harris was the founder of Rotary and the Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006.

Below are the Paul Harris fellows from our club:

Member Name Year Won
Margot Bynoe 2011
Roger Bynoe 2005
Joseph Chen 2011
Cathy Chouinard 2006
David Cusimano 2016
Peter Cusimano 2008
Paul Dunderas 2017
Dorothy Evans 2017
Vi Fardy 2006
Rick Firth 2010
Cheryl Hiatt-Sandiford 2000
Heather Ingram 2005
Cheryl (CJ) Jones 2018
Lise Lauzon 2003
Ruth Lenz 2000
James MacDonald 2003
Tina Martin 2021
Jean Claude Mbazumutima 2022
Bruce McMeekin 2009
Carolyn Nemeth 2020
Kevin Perkins 2015
Susan Peterson 2002
Rick Price 2003
Craig Riley 2020
Jim Sandiford 1995/2022
Jon Stevens 2022
Eric Tappenden 2010
Andy Taylor 2017
Howard Waiser 2015
Sam Yakamoto 2012
June Yakamoto 2012