Ed Werbowski Memorial Scholarship
Related Pages
Photo Albums
Ed Werbowski Memorial Scholarship
Rotary Club of Winnipeg, Charleswood
The scholarship is in memory of Ed Werbowski, a Charter Member of the Rotary Club of Winnipeg, Charleswood, much admired for his unflagging energy and commitment to the ideals of Rotary, namely, 'service above self'. The bursary is available to a grade 12 student at high schools in Charleswood and applied to post-secondary education costs within 2 years following graduation. It is intended to assist in achieving academic goals and can be applied toward any education related costs, including textbooks or lab fees. The Rotary Club pays $1000 to the education institute which is applied to the recipient's student account. 
Eligible High Schools in Charleswood
Oak Park, St. Paul’s and Shaftesbury High Schools are responsible for selecting a grade 12 student to receive the Ed Werbowski Memorial Scholarship. This is generally done during the latter part of the school year in advance of the school’s annual Awards Event. They consider the student biography, a record of volunteering, extracurricular participation, and a description of future plans. Scholarship recipients are invited to attend a meeting of the Charleswood Rotary Club, held weekly at the Breezy Bend Golf Club.
Rotary Club of Winnipeg, Charleswood – wpgysrotary@gmail.com
Oak Park High School – Ms. Kerri Martin, Social Studies Teacher and Program Leader (204) 895-7221 ext. 1990 kerrimartin@pembinatrails.ca
or Bob Mauthe, Counsellor, 204.895.7221 Ext 314;  bmauthe@pembinatrails.ca 
St. Paul’s High School – Mr. Bob Lewin, Principal, (204) 831- 2305 blewin@stpauls.mb.ca
Shaftesbury High School – Mr. Roy Thiessen, Guidance Counsellor, (204) 888-5898; rothiessen@pembinatrails.ca
History of Awards
Oak Park High School
2016-17: Marvin Routley
2018: Ranjan Sehgal
2019: Skylar Ferguson
2020: Amayra Wilson
2021: Gabriel Ajero
2022: Kathleen (Kate) Sawyer
Shaftesbury High School
2019: Jamie Kim
2020: Emily Lange
2021: Blair Hamilton
2022: Jennie Oh
St. Paul's High School
2012: Mark Mahon
2013: Carter Liebzeit
2014: Cole Kubay
2015: Roshan Sadhak
2016: Simon Meier
2017: Connor Donovan Stewart
2018: Chris Karvelas / Lucas Phangureh (co-recipients)
2019: Ethan Lewis
2020: Brock Nykoluk
2021: Marcello Audino  
2022:  Yazan Abusaleh