In 1992, the two local Rotary clubs, the Rotary Club of Las Cruces and the Rio Grande, agreed to organize a much needed breakfast club. Representing the Rotary Club of Las Cruces was Jeff Brown (then president), Ralph Stucky, Fred Loe, Gene Jameson, and Anne Murrell. Representing the Rio Grande Club was Tom Sandenaw (then president), Jim Volk, Jerry Stryker, and Dan LeCrone. Bill DeGroot, then governor of District 5520, was also active and supportive in forming the third club.
The following slate of officers was selected and all agreed to serve during the organizational and chartering phase of the club: Dan LeCrone, President; Ron Nims, President Elect; Karen Funk, Secretary; Lisa Willman, Treasurer; Jerry Stryker; Past President (acting); and Fred Loe, Sergeant-at-arms. Directors included Patsy Duran, Club Service; Bob Villalobos, Vocational Service; Tris McSherry, Community Service; and Paul Huntsberger, International Service.
The inaugural meeting was held on Thursday, January 7, 1993 at 6:45 a.m. at the Las Cruces Hilton. The initial programs covered the fundamentals of Rotary. The original name was the Rotary Club of Las Cruces East. On February 25, 1993, the club adopted the Rotary Club of Las Cruces Mesilla Valley as the official name. The application to Rotary International to charter the provisional club was submitted on March 4, 1993. On April 16, 1993, the club conducted a Charter Presentation at the Hilton Hotel. Area clubs were invited along with several Rotary dignitaries. The 32 charter members and the Board of Officers were recognized. District Governor Bill DeGrott strongly urged the board to continue their offices into the next Rotary year beginning July 1, 1993. All board members agreed to serve through 1993-1994. The club charter was approved by Rotary International on May 15, 1993 as Club number 29294. Charter members who still serve are Bob Villalobos, Ron Nims, Hue McCoy and Paul Huntsberger.