Through private donations and grants from our Rotary District and the Angel Fire Community Foundation Affiliate Fund (Taos Community Foundation) we awarded eight scholarships this year. The scholarships are awarded in memory of Rotarians in our club who have passed away. There were six recipients at Cimarron High School and two recipients at Moreno Valley High School.
For several years now the Rotary Club of Angel Fire has made it a tradition to award scholarships to qualified graduating seniors from Moreno Valley and Cimarron High Schools in memory of all the local Rotarians who have passed since we were chartered as a club 23 years ago. This is one of our major community contributions every year. Students attending other schools or home schooled students who live in the Moreno Valley are also eligible.
This year we were very fortunate to receive funding from both the Rotary Foundation and the Taos Community Foundation since it was not possible to hold any local fund raisers due to COVID. Thanks to everyone who donated to either of these two Foundations to make these awards possible.  Thanks also go out to all the students who completed applications and to their teachers and sponsors who wrote letters of recommendation.  
Here were all dedicated community servants who lived the Rotary motto - Service above Self:  
1.      Bruce Kelly
2.      Wanda Fortlage
3.      Glenn Fortlage
4.      Betty Moon
5.      Don Welker
6.      Dennis Edwards
7.      Donna Holman
Pictured are the scholarship winners from each school. 

Moreno Valley High School:
Bret Wier, Past President of the Rotary Club of Angel Fire and County Commissioner and Ember Grassmick; not pictured, Isabella Keim
Cimarron High School:
From left to right Gordon Cox, Rotary Club of Angel Fire President, Lane Smith, Lee Kenneke, Mariah Sanchez, Analiese Malaney, Olivia Gates; Not pictured: Tor Holm.