

## **Rotary Club of Point Loma**

## Charter Year 1950-51

Under the sponsorship and guidance of the Rotary Club of San Diego, a group of men began to meet in the Spring of 1950 on the Point Loma Peninsula to consider the formation of a Rotary Club in the Point Loma community. The San Diego Club relinquished territory for the new club. The Rotary Club of Point Loma was chartered as Rotary Club #7499 on April 17, 1950. Ralph E. Bach was the organizing representative from the San Diego Club.

The list of 22 charter members included the following business and professional men from the Point Loma community:

President: Alden W. Johnson Vice-President: Paul Wolcott, Jr.

Secretary: Leonard S. Gustafson

Treasurer: Milton Urner

Directors: Robert O. Johnson

Thomas P. Faulconer

Frank K Wyatt

Other charter members were Robert V. Batterton, Samuel M. Blasker, Patrick J. Branin, Howard A. Christman, Sidney Dewhurst, Charles E. Harvey, George W. Kettenburg, S. Dean McBride, Glenn Martin, Gus E. Matchinske, E. Garrick O'Bryan, Charles E. Springstead, Donald E. Votz, John D. Washington, and James L. Wood.

Alden Johnson was elected as the first club president. He served from April 1950 to the end of the next Rotary year in June 1951. During the year, Fred Akers became the first noncharter member to be brought into the club.

Community Service was expressed by the club through support of the Frontier School Gro-Y Club. A weekly raffle helped to raise funds for the service projects. A highlight of the Club Service social calendar was a Ladies Night at the Hotel Del Coronado on June 8, 1951.

The club met at the Marlin Inn in Point Loma. Another meeting place during these early years was the Shell Room at the Harborside Motel.