Service Above Self Award

The Galena Rotary Club is proud to announce that it has created an award to recognize citizens who have exemplified the Rotary Motto “Service above Self.” Rotary International was founded with the following objectives:

The development of acquaintance as an opportunity for service.

High ethical standards in business and professions, the recognition
of the worthiness of all useful occupations, and the dignifying of each
Rotarians occupation as an opportunity to serve society.

The application of the ideal of service in each Rotarian’s personal,
business, and community life.

Our search for such individuals will take in consideration the Rotary 4-way Test:

  • Is it the truth?
  • Is it fair to all concerned?
  • Will it build goodwill and better friendship
  • Will it be beneficial to all concerned?

As Rotarians we all strive to make these tenets a part of our daily lives. Our communities are as fine as they are because there are many other citizens who do the same without being members of our club. In seeking to identify and recognize those citizens, we ask your assistance by submitting any citizen you feel is worthy of such recognition.

We thank you for your help on our endeavor.

Guide Lines for Choosing a Service above Self Candidate

The following procedures are meant to be guide lines only. They were developed to facilitate an attempt at an objective procedure in selecting a candidate. In no way is this to be constructed as the final means in making what will ultimately be a subjective decision.

1. Each applicant will be considering by looking at scope of contribution, length of time dedicated to the activity, other community involvement and value of the activity to the community.

2. A point system was devised for each category.
a. Value of community 1-10 points
b. Scope of service 1-10 points
c. Time devoted to activity 1-10 points
d. Length of service 1-5 points (1 point for each year)
e. Other community involvement 1-3 points

3. Each member of the committee will vote for the top five applicants giving 5 points to first choice and 1 point for fifth choice.

4. Ties will be broken by a consensus of the committee members.

Rotarian of the Year Award

Each year, the outgoing president selects a "Rotarian of the Year".  This award is given to the club member who has most embodied the "service above self" motto of our club. 
Past recipients:
1985 - Roger Yardley
1986 - Dennis Hirstein
1987 - Ken Parrott
1988 - John Osmanski
1989 - Bert Tower
1990 - Tom Morris
1991 - Phillip A Jackman
1992 - Patrick McCarthy
1993 - Jeff Holder
1994 - Dan Mitchell
1995 - Paul Kindig
1996 - Gordy Kilgore
1997 - Bucky Ellis
1998 - Shirley Leliosh
1999 - Patrick McCarthy  
             and Dwight Bischel
2000 - Santiago Mendez
2001 - Tom Morris
2002 - Shirley Leliosh
2003 - Dwight Bischel
2004 - John Cooke
2005 - Bob Wehrle
2006 - Andy Willis
2007 - Carter Newton
2008 - Dick Laubhan
              and Jim Kellar
2009 - Don Porter
2010 - Rich Austin
2011 - none selected
2012 - Lois Jean Wienen
            and Don Campbell
2013 - Denton Brown
2014 - James Kellar
2015 - Helen Kilgore
2016 - none selected
2017 - Andy Willis
Club Responsibilities
President Elect
Immediate Past President
Public Image Chair
Youth Exchange
Web Site
Foundation Chair