On March 27th the Rotary Club of Powell River hosted the Rotary Club of Powell River Sunshine to honour the second anniversary of its founding.  The celebration was well attended by both clubs and some very prominent Rotarians from the Lower Mainland. 


Rotary Club of Powell River Sunrise thanks the evening club for a fantastic 2nd Anniversary Party.  The club has been operating for over three years but has been chartered for two.  The significance of the 2nd anniversary is that if a club makes two years as a chartered club, it is very likely a permanent fixture in the community.  Congratulations and thanks to everyone involved! 

The celebration was well attended with many of the evening club and morning club members joined by some very prominent Rotarians from the Lower Mainland.  The dignitaries attending were: Powell River’s own Assistant District Governor Jan Gisborne, instrumental in organizing the evening, Past District Governors Chris and Penny Offer, Past District Governor Gordon Daglish, District Governor Elect Garry Shearer and Past Assistant District Governor Wayne Roy from Gibsons.  Highlights of the evening were:

  1. Chris Offer inducted Carlos Felip into Rotary as Rotary Club of Powell River Sunrise’s newest member.  Welcome Carlos!
  2. Penny Offer inducted Penny Anne Young as an Honorary Member of the Rotary Club of Powell River Sunrise.  Penny Anne Young was recognised for all she has done for the morning club over the past three years.  Thank you Penny!
  3. Doug Nauer and Helen deBruyckere were given Paul Harris Awards for all the work they have done in creating and maintaining the RCPR Sunrise.  Thanks for all the hard work!
  4.  The morning club presented the evening club with a copy of the Charter Evening recognizing the evening club for being there for the morning club.

Thanks to everyone for making this evening a very special and memorable evening indeed!

Submitted by Gerard Nachtegaele, President- 2012/13

Image  Image