About Our Club
Related Pages
Photo Albums
The Rotary Club of Hamilton Place (later renamed The Rotary Club of Chattanooga Hamilton Place) was chartered June 12, 1990. Responsible for this club’s beginnings were Dyer Butterfield and William Raoul from the downtown Chattanooga Club.
Charter Night was attended by 168 persons. This included 26 of the 31 members of the Hamilton Place Club, 17 Past District Governors and the current District Governor, Bill Hackemann. In the audience were Jim Lacy (future President of Rotary International, 1998-1999) and John Germ (future President of Rotary International, 2016-2017).
The speaker for the evening was James L. Bomar, Jr., President of Rotary International, 1979-1980.
Hamilton Place Rotary Club became the 59th Rotary club in District 6780. Former downtown Rotarian Brice Holland became the first president of the Hamilton Place Club and accepted the charter.
There are seven current Rotarians who were charter members of the club:  Rick Carlson, Harry Fields, Jim Marquis, Ellsworth McKee, John Rogers, Phil Smartt, and Marsha Yessick.