Club Information
Omaha Downtown

Established Leaders, Emerging Leaders, Developing Leaders

We meet In Person
Wednesdays at 12:00 PM
The Field Club of Omaha
3615 Woolworth Avenue
Omaha, NE 68105
United States of America
Latest News
Willie Barney
Founder & CEO of the Empowerment Network

Willie Barney started the Empowerment Network 17 years ago, and his organization was recently named one of the nation’s ‘My Brother’s Keeper Alliance Model Community.’    by the Obama Foundation with a My Brother’s Keeper Award as a model community. Omaha’s Empowerment Network will receive an $800,000 grant with access to direct coaching, evaluation support, peer-to-peer learning, and continued technical assistance. Omaha is returning to 40-year lows in gun violence, thanks to collaborative efforts reflected through the Empowerment Network: Omaha 360, Step-Up Omaha, City of Omaha, Omaha Police Department s foundations, and the My Brother’s Keeper Partnership.
Due to the continual markets downturn, the Downtown Rotary Foundation has made the difficult decision to take a one year moratorium on grant distributions to nonprofits for the 2022-2023 year. We look forward to renewing the grant process for 2023-2024 when the markets start to recover. If you have any questions, please reach out to Foundation President, Sean Olson at
Jennifer Jones, Rotary International’s first female president, is the perfect leader to spread the word about the good Rotary does in the world, and inspire its members to keep going. At a training seminar for Rotary club presidents-elect at a Dallas-area hotel in February, sergeants-at-arms wearing yellow vests and Stetsons lead participants, grouped by Rotary district, into a small room for a photo op with 2022-23 Rotary International President Jennifer Jones. As the groups enter, the club leaders mob Jones — the room a flurry of handshakes, fist bumps, hugs, and the occasional squeal. For each photo, the Stetson-clad Rotarians (nicknamed "Rangers") give instructions on who should stand where, then Jones, who is seated front-row center, stands up, turns around, and warms up the crowd. "Is this the best district?" she asks one. She challenges a district to dance, busting a groove on the tan and gray patterned hotel carpet. Another, she teases, is the best looking. And then there's the "party" district, whose members give a raucous cheer. Read more, click here.
The 95th Honor Roll Program was held virtually on May 11, 2022, and it was a huge success this year with 403 Honor Roll students coming from 52 middle schools. Our keynote speaker was Alexander Payne, a past Honor Roll awardee himself, who is  is an award-winning American director, screenwriter, and producer, who was noted for creating films that mixed sardonic humor with humanistic character-driven drama in prosaic contemporary settings. Other speakers include Rotarians who are past Honor Roll recipients themselves, namely: President Aileen Warren, Hal Daub, and John Ewing. John Knicely of WOWT was master of ceremonies. President-Elect Sean Connolly spoke about the Rotary Scholarship and announced this year's Scholarship recipients as follows: 

Lauren Cannella, Marian High School
Akhil Ganti, Millard North High School
William Hubert, Papillion-La Vista High School
Alessandra Kakish, Duchesne Academy
Max Langland, Elkhorn High School
Katherine Opperman, Westside High School
Spencer Gordman, last year's scholarship recipient spoke to the delight of the Honor Roll recipients. Honor Roll Chair Camille Metoyer Moten and the Honor Roll Committee thank all Rotarians who supported the Service Fund this year and also the following Honor Roll Sponsors: Centris - Dawn Gonzales, DA Davidson - Susan Koesters, Fmr. Congressman & Mayor Hal Daub, EHPV - Bill Harvey, Douglas County Treasurer John Ewing & Viv Ewing, Lueder Construction - Brad von Gillern, and President Aileen Warren, HOPE Photo Organizing, and UNO College of Business Administration.
Honor Roll Donors: Rahul Agarwal, Brad Burklund, Paul Cohen, Sean Connolly, Dianne Desler, Okley Gibbs, Deirdre Haj, Gretchen Harvey, Yolanda Hoffman, Lindy Hoyer, Steve McCollister, Presbyterian Church of the Master, Clark Rosenlof, Deb Skinner, and Jim Stewart. The Honor Roll live broadcast and Program recording can be found on our website at, or click here.
Congratulations to Larry Johansen for achieving 400% attendance during Rotary Year 2020-2021! Larry has been a Rotarian for 45 years and maintains perfect attendance for 43 years. But last year, Larry attended Rotary meetings four times a week! Larry is Paul Harris Fellow +8. Congratulations, Larry!
Larry Johansen was presented his 400% Plaque of Recognition by PDG Roxy Orr, IPP John Sullivan, and President Aileen Warren
Last week at Rotary, Immediate Past District Governor Roxy Orr recognized Immediate Past President John Sullivan for his outstanding leadership. PDG Roxy also recognized the Outgoing Officers and Directors.
PDG Roxy Orr recognized IPP John Sullivan for his Outanding Leadership as President RY 2020-2021
PDG Roxy Orr recognized Outgoing Officers. Pictured here are: IPP John Sullivan, then Pres-Elect Aileen Warren, President-Designate Sean Connolly, & then-Secretary Nash Mahupete
PDG Roxy Orr recognized outgoing members of the Board of Directors. Pictured here are L to R: Viv Ewing & Okley Gibbs with President Aileen Warren
If you attend another club's meeting in person or virtual, please email Yolanda for attendance credit
Thank you!
Club Executives & Directors
Club President
Club President-elect
Club President-nominee
Immediate Past Club President
Club Administration Director
Club Secretary
Club Treasurer
Club Foundation Chair - TRF
Club Membership Chair
Club Polio Chair
Club Program Chair
Club Public Image
Club Service Projects
Rotary Honor Roll
Upcoming Speakers
Jeremy Nordquest
May 31, 2023
John Arch
Jun 07, 2023
Lisa Cimino
Jun 14, 2023
Anthony Hollman
Jun 21, 2023
Guest Registration
Upcoming Events
Club Calendar
May 2023