Posted by Annie Powers on Jun 07, 2017
The Rotary Club of Medford continues its long-standing tradition of honoring graduating seniors with a scholarship. The scholarships are given in memory of Medford Rotarians who contributed to Rotary for many years and in many different ways. This year's recipients were honored at a dinner with the families, where the scholarships were presented. The recipients are Jeffrey Fernandes of Austin Prep receiving the Mark Egitto scholarship. The Joseph Carr scholarship was presented by his son, to Matthew Hirl who is graduating from Malden Catholic. Emiline Antunes of Medford High received the Charles Oxnard Scholarship award. The Joseph Mahoney Scholarship was presented to Mary Listro a graduate of Matignon High School. Lydia Ryan earned the Medford Leadership Scholarship as a graduating senior from Medford High School and Ryan Kreatz also a Matignon Grad received the Public Safety Scholarship in memory of retired Fire Chief, Leo McCabe. How appropriate that Ryan comes from a long line of Medford firefighters. On June 6th, our final recipient Ailish Fallon, will receive the M Club Scholarship in memory of Mrs. Ellard a former gym teacher at Medford High School.

President Bob Kaminer thanked the students for their hard work and dedication, and wished them well as they moved forward to college. Bob also introduced the Scholarship Committee members, John Hackett, Sr., Edward Hackett, Patrick Theberge and Anthony Giamberadino for their time & effort. Our annual scholarship program is funded by the proceeds from our many social events. All of our Rotarians should be applauded for their hard work throughout the year running our Comedy Night, Casino Night, Raffles and other fundraising events.