A Message from Sharon Kish, District Grants Chair

Hi Rotarians, 

Hope Everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and is getting ready for a joyous Holiday season.   Just a Save the Date for the District grant trainings for Rotary Year 2024-25, which will be held online in January, 2024.  District grants are a wonderful opportunity to maximize local Rotary club funds to complete community and international projects that meet critical needs.  

A Message from Sharon Kish, District Grants Chair

Hi Rotarians, 

Hope Everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and is getting ready for a joyous Holiday season.   Just a Save the Date for the District grant trainings for Rotary Year 2024-25, which will be held online in January, 2024.  District grants are a wonderful opportunity to maximize local Rotary club funds to complete community and international projects that meet critical needs.  

 

The district grant application will be online on the District 6540 website early in January. 2024,  http://www.rotary6540.org

It is an e-grant application and has to be submitted online.  The due date will be March 31, 2024.  There will be two online grant training sessions:

 

Saturday, January 13, 2024 at 8 a.m.(CST)/ 9 a.m.(EST) or

Wednesday, January 17, 2024 at 6 p.m.(CST)/ 7 p.m.(EST)  

 

Please register on the district website. http://www.rotary6540.org

 

I strongly encourage your Club’s participation in one of the webinars.  We will review the grant application and RI guidelines.  The maximum grant amount will again be $3,000.  The amount awarded to your Club will be determined by the average 3-year per capita giving history to the RI Annual Fund-Share by the members of your club.  An average of $100 is required for a $3,000 award.  The Club must also provide a 25% cash match to your request. All your questions will be addressed during the webinars. The power point will be posted on the website after the trainings. 

 

Also, the District Grant Committee has a few openings for individuals to serve on the Committee.  The work of the committee is to review grant applications from the Clubs and determine the level of funding for approved projects.  They may also help the District refine grant procedures.  This position requires a commitment of 3-4 hours for grant review in the early spring and 2-3 hours during the course of the year for trainings and follow up with the Clubs.  If you are interested, please contact District Grants Chair, Sharon Kish, skish33@gmail.com  219-508-1516.  

 

We hope that your Club will submit a District grant this year.  Bring back Foundation dollars to your community, develop new partnerships, and improve the lives of families in your community with a District grant.  I am looking forward to meeting with all of you in January!