The Annual Fund –  Our District 5890 Rotarians and Clubs raised a total of $416,726 for the Annual Programs Fund (50% of which will come back to our District in the 2015-16 Rotary Year – Nick’s DG year)!  Our Per-Capita giving, which ranged all the way from $.29 per member at one club to $527.61 per member at another, averaged $155.96 per member.  While not a record, this average is higher than all but a couple of years in our District’s history.  All Sixty-one of our District 5890 clubs contributed and 34 clubs contributed at the $100+ per-Capita level.   Thanks to our 112 Paul Harris Society Members for greatly increasing the average.  Click on this story heading to see other Foundation giving results.

 

Just think of the great year we could have had if each of the 27 clubs below $100 had reached the $100 Per-Member level.  See the Top Giving Clubs at the bottom (Annual Fund and Polio) and see the Contribution Reports attached to see how your clubs performed.

Polio Plus - Our clubs and members contributed a total of $84,330 (+ $10,000 from the District Designated Fund –donated to the Annual Fund three year ago) in the 2012-13 year.   For the 2013-14 year, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation has pledged to contribute $2 for each  $1 donated by Rotary up to a total of $35 Million in Rotarian donations.
 
In addition, our District’s PolioPlus Chair will be introducing the new Because We Can program designed to raise funds and awareness among non-Rotarians, at the July 22 AGs Meeting.  
 
District Grants – Forty-Two of our District 5890, Future Vision – Grants Management  Qualified Clubs were awarded 2012-13 Rotary Year District Grants.   Applications for 2013-14 District Grants are now available on the District website with a deadline for submission of August 9, 2013.  Grants Chair Martin Bailey mcbailey@lplfs.com will be leading this year’s Grants Meeting on September 7, 2013.  All clubs submitting a District Grant application will be invited to present a short description of application at that meeting.   Grants of up to $2,000 will be awarded pending approval by TRF.
      
Global Grants – District 5890 has 9 Global Grants currently underway including the newest one for a Vocational Training Team of nurses coming here from Uganda.   Our three outbound 2012-13 scholars (Amy Parker, Samantha Webb & Derek Marchant) will be coming home soon and our 2013-14 Scholar, Jost Lunstroth will be heading to Columbia in early 2014 to study Peace and Conflict Resolution.  In addition our Inbound Scholars, Dr. Shigeki Yagyu from Japan and Dr. Manu Sharmawill from India will be staying here for another year of study.
 
Peace Scholars - Our Peace Scholar Chair, Vicki Brentin, has submitted applications to TRF for two possible Peace Scholars from our District!   
Congratulations to the Top --Annual Programs Fund Giving Clubs 7/1/12 – 06/30/13
West U $57,510, Houston $45,575, Pasadena $36,545, & Brazosport $27,223
And to the Top --Per-Capita Annual Programs Fund Clubs 7/1/12 – 06/30/13
West U $527, Harrisburg $327, Brazosport $316, Kingwood $276, Pasadena $262, Houston $247, & Gulfway/Hobby $239
 
Congratulations to the Top – Polio Plus Clubs 7/1/12-06/30/13
West U $19,384, Houston $6,100, Kingwood $3,900, Houston Heights $3,500, Space Center $3,159, Sharpstown $3,070, El Campo $3,022
 
And to the Top – Per Capita Polio Plus Clubs 7/1/12-06/30/13
Kingwood $278 per Member, Sharpstown $180, West U $177, Texas Gulf Coast After 5  $114
 
You are welcome to contact any member of the District 5890 Rotary Foundation Team (see below) to arrange a club program featuring the latest information about The Rotary Foundation’s   Programs
 
Thanks for all you do for Rotary!
Terry Ziegler, (West U), District 5890 Rotary Foundation Committee Chair
 
District 5890 The Rotary Foundation 2013-14 Team

Supporting the Service Goals of Our Clubs 

District Governor Bob Gebhard bobg.5890@yahoo.com
Terry Ziegler – District Rotary Foundation Committee Chair bigzlumber@aol.com work 713-748-1730  cell 713-825-1176
Martin Bailey – Grants Chair mcbailey@lplfs.com
Bill Barmore – Scholarship Chair bbarmore@barmore.com
Art Bautista – Rotary Direct abautista721@sbcglobal.net
Vickie Brentin – Peace Scholarship Chair vbrentin@gmail.com
Linda Caruso – 100% Paul Harris Fellow Clubs lcaruso@flash.net  
John Cotterell – Document Retention Manager rotary@johncotterell.com
Bill Davis – Grants Advisor Billd@kingwoodcable.com
Greg Faldyn – Water Chair greg.faldyn@usi.biz
Barbara Franklin – District Grant Co-coordinator bbfranklin@comcast.net
David Frishman – PolioPlus Co-Chair katykid@hal-pc.org  
Bill Haglund – Scholarship Co-Chair wmhaglund@aol.com
David Hall – TRF Major Gifts Officer, Zone 21B david.hall@rotary.org
PDG Suzi Howe – TRF Advisor, Assistant Regional Rotary Foundation Coordinator, International Assembly Trainer & Future Vision All Star Team Leader suzihowe@earthlink.net
Wally Kronzer – Grants Management Trainer wkronzer@kronzer.com
Stuart Levin – Endowment Major Gifts Advisor stulevin@levinandatwood.com
Open – Foundation Alumni Chair
Rebecca Maddux – District Raffle Chair RMaddux@pmhvac.com
Lisa Pauls – District Grants Coordinator lisa_pauls@ml.com
Lucy Pendon – Annual Programs Fund Chair lnpendon@embarqmail.com
Graham Sharp – Benefactor Chair GJSharp@earthlink.net
Wayne Staton – PolioPlus Committee Chair wayne_staton@yahoo.com 
Randy Thompson – Rotary Endowment Chair randy.thompson@lfg.com
Dee Ullrich – District Paul Harris Society Coordinator and Club Qualification/MOU Coordinator dcullrich@gmail.com

2013-14 Goals:
  100% EREY (Each Club (& their members) contributing a minimum of $100 per member to the Annual Programs Fund of The Rotary Foundation)
  Each Club (& their members) contributing $20+ per member to PolioPlus
  Total District Annual Programs Fund Giving of $165 per capita
  12 New Major Donors
  100 New Paul Harris Society Members
  10 New Bequest Society Members
  20 New Rotary Direct Members
  100% of Clubs Qualified for Grants
  100 New Benefactors/Bequest Society Members