Houston, November 17, 2012 – The Rotary Lombardi Award committee today announced the four finalists for the 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award. The finalists are:
Jadeveon Clowney - University of South Carolina Defensive End
Barrett Jones - University of Alabama Offensive Lineman
Jarvis Jones - University of Georgia Outside Linebacker
Manti Te’o - Notre Dame University Inside Linebacker
Established in 1970, the annual award honors collegiate lineman who display courage, character and team spirit on and off the gridiron. This year’s Rotary Lombardi Award will be presented on December 5th at Houston’s Hobby Center and telecast nationally on the CBS Sports Network (check local listings).

“We are honored to be able to help sustain the legacy of Coach Lombardi by recognizing the singular leadership and talents of these outstanding players, and we extend our congratulations to all of our past winners and finalists who share in this legacy,” said Steve Vetrano, co-chair of the Rotary Lombardi Award, “We also want to thank everyone who played a part in supporting this year’s award process, and look forward to the announcement of our 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award winner. “

Established in 1970, the Rotary Lombardi Award has raised millions of dollars to support cancer research, public education and direct services to cancer patients. The Rotary Lombardi Award embodies the Rotary tradition of service above self and the ideals of Vince Lombardi.

About the Rotary Lombardi Award 2 Day Event:

The Rotary Lombardi Award announcement is a two-day event filled with life enriching activities for the players and the community. The players begin with an outreach event where they will be given the opportunity to interact with inner city children, along with representatives from the Texans and the community. The next day, they will be the honored guests at a luncheon and series of receptions where they will meet Houston business leaders and event sponsors. The two-day event ends with the Red Carpet arrival of the players and the announcement carried live on CBS Sports television.

For more information on the two-day schedule of events and ticket opportunities, please visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org and follow the March to Gridiron Greatness on Twitter at @RotaryLombardiAward and on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rotary-Lombardi-Award/126108310763275.

National College Football Awards Association:

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.NCFAA.org.

Rotary Lombardi Award Contacts:
Rick Slemaker, Programs Chairperson
Steve Vetrano, Administration and Finance Chairperson
(713) 973-9936


Yvette Scheiber, Public Relations Chairperson
(713) 973-9936