Thanks to Miguel Ottaviano, we now have photo albums of the District Conference!!  Click on the following link:  Photo Album 

The 2012-13 District Conference, held April 18-20, 2013, at the outstanding Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort - San Antonio, was a rousing success.  Opening with a great dinner, the always heart-warming opening flag ceremony by our Youth Exchange students, great speakers including RI President's Rep. David Roper, to the Governor's Banquet on Saturday.  Everyone came away more knowlegable and with a pride of satisfaction. 

District Governor Chris Schneider comments: "WOW!!!  What a team effort!!!  From the RI President’s Rep David Roper and all the distinguished speakers, to first time attendees and old timers, I have heard nothing but praises for your beautiful work, which included masterful planning and execution.  Words cannot describe my appreciation for all the hard work that went into this WELL-received conference.  I am, along with District 5890, forever grateful to your continued dedication to our world of Rotary.  Our Family of Rotary is honored to have you as leaders, and may God bless you for all that you continue to do for Rotary." 

To see the award winners, click on this story heading.



The following were the major 2012-13 awards presented during the District Conference:


Rotary Service to Humanity Award:  John Raley

TRF Citation for Meritorious Service:  PDG Sunny Sharma, RC of Fort Bend County

Vocational Service Leadership Award:  Belinda Kaylani, RC of Galleria Area


Large Club of the Year:  West U Rotary Club

Medium Club of the Year:  Richmond Rotary Club

Small Club of the Year:  Kingwood Rotary Club

Large Club President of the Year:  Marc Herns, Brazosport Rotary Club

Medium Club President of the Year:  James Ackman, Harrisburg Rotary Club

Small Club President of the Year:  Don Holt, Pasadena South Rotary Club

#1 Club per Capita giving TRF:  West U ($287/member)

#1 Club overall giving to TRF:  West U ($48,323)

Best Attendance & Reporting:  Kingwood, Sandi Nizzi, Club Secretary

#1 Membership Percentage Gain:  Fort Bend County Rotary Club

Outstanding Community Service Project of the Year:  Health Fair – Memorial-Spring Branch

Outstanding International Service Project of the Year:  Classrooms for Cheheltan Middle School Afghanistan - Rotary Clubs of Humble Intercontinental, Houston, Houston Heights, West U, North Shore, Willowbrook, Baytown, Bear Creek Copperfield and Brazosport

Rising Rotary Star:  Sasha Costa – Houston Rotary Club

AG of the Year:  Stu Levin – Katy Rotary Club

Rotarian of the Year:  Michelle Bohreer – Houston Skyline Rotary Club


Bill Davis, RC of Humble Intercontinental for International Service Chair and Special Grants Advisor.

Emily Cole, RC of River Oaks, for Outstanding Leadership as Club President of the River Oaks Rotary Club.

Nathalie Cras:  Unwavering Meritorious Service as D5890 Rotaract District Representative

Rebecca Maddux:  Continued Unwavering Meritorious Service to D5890 in all capacities.

Dr. Eric Liu:  Continued Meritorious Service as Assistance Governor and Chair for MSB Health Fair

Michael Lam:  Meritorious Service to D5890 as President of the West Houston Katy Rotaract Club

Marilyn Lidberg:  Meritorious Service as Newsletter Editor, District Door Prize Chair and AG

PDG Dennis Adams:  Meritorious Service as DG Advisor

PDG Rhonda Kennedy:  Meritorious Service as DG Advisor

Wayne Musial:  Meritorious Service as Supportive Spouse

Sharlene Barris:  Meritorious Service as Supportive Spouse

Ronnie Hallenberger:  Meritorious Service for District and Rotarian Support

Rotary Club of Champions Sunrise:  Meritorious Service to the Community


Terry Ziegler, RC of West U

Wally Kronzer, RC of West U

Deanna “Dee” Ullrich, RC of West U

Randy Thompson, RC of Willowbrook

Lucy Pendon, RC of Brazosport

Barbara Franklin, RC of Brazosport

Lisa Pauls, RC of Brazosport

Martin Bailey, RC of Galleria Area

Bill Barmore, RC of Pasadena

Bill Davis, RC of Humble Intercontinental

Bill Haglund, RC of Memorial Spring Branch