On April 8, the Tucson Kino Rotary Club honored seven area high school students with Character Awards. Awardees are nominated by school administrators, counselors, teachers, or other students.
The Tucson Kino Rotary Club established the Spring and Fall Character Awards in 2011 to honor high school students who serve as role models in their schools and in society via service to the community.
This spring, the Character Award Recipients are:
  • Stephanie Celaya, PPEP TEC High School
  • Jaquelyn Duarte, Desert View High School
  • Ricardo Echanove, Sunnyside High School
  • Kimberly Hernandez Guerrero, Alta Vista High School
  • Carlos Laphond Moreno, Pueblo Magnet High School
  • Victor Jesus Paraza, Star Academic High School
  • Stanislaus Venego, Baboquivari High School
The students were recognized at a community breakfast attended by family and representatives from each school. Each honoree received a Certificate of Recognition, a Rotary commemorative coin, and a $50 gift card. In addition, Tucson Kino Rotary will donate $25 to a charity of each student’s choice.
Learn more about Tucson Kino Rotary at
The 2022 Spring Character Awards Honorees:
l to r: Victor Jesus Peraza, Ricardo Echanove, Stephanie Celaya,
Jaquelyn Duarte, Stanislaus Venego, Carlos Laphond Moreno, and Kimberly Hernandez Guerrero