At a club social at the home of Fil and Karen Barrera, the Annual Pass the Gavel event took place Friday, May 24. Current President John Palacio handed the gavel to President-Elect Karen Barrera. Karen will assume the Presidency on July 1, 2019 and serve for a year.
Also accepting leadership roles for second terms were Monique Soria, Secretary, and Micki Ulrich, Treasurer.
Also, the club accepted Ralph Nickl as the club's newest member with a Rotary Pin and Certificate of Membership.
                                      Monique, John, Ralph, Maria Patterson
                                       and Micki Welcome Ralph into Rotary
The following presentations and awards were made:
1. David Fawcett was awarded his pin as a Paul Harris Society member. These Rotarians have committed to donating at least $1000 annually to the Rotary Foundation.
   David Receives his
          PHS Pin
2. A Certificate and gift card were presented to John Palacio for his year of service as President.
3. Karen presented Ben's Bells Kindness Coins to Monique, Micki and David for their efforts on behalf of Tucson Kino Rotary.
4. Fil presented a personalized gavel given to him after his year as President to incoming President Karen for her use in the coming year.
Fil Presents His Gavel    
 to Karen             
A number of former Presidents of Tucson Kino Rotary were present Friday.
Past Presidents at the event (l-r) John Palacio, Fil Barrera,
Chris Bejarano, Karen Barrera, Ed Cajas, Debbie Haddock,
Carlos Garcia and Raul Bejarano