On January 25, 2019, at a community breakfast, seven area high school students were honored with Character Awards presented to them, their families and representatives from the faculties of their schools. Awardees are nominated by school administrators, counselors, teachers or other students.
The Tucson Kino Rotary Club established the Spring and Fall Character Awards in 2011 to honor high school students who serve as role models in their schools and in society via service to the community and modeling the Rotary Four-Way Test. For Rotarians, the Four-Way Test is the cornerstone of all action.
Of the things we think, say or do:
Is it the TRUTH?
Is it FAIR to all concerned?
Will it be BENEFICIAL to all concerned?
This year, the Awardees were Joscell Bailey, Star Academic High School; Chantal Bustamante, Desert View High School; Alyssa Miranda, Sunnyside High School; Johnathan Joaquin Bailey, Baboquivari High School; Rohan Ather, Pueblo Magnet High School; Hanna Smith, PPEP TEC High School; and Alan Manuel Loreto, Alta Vista High School.
Each honoree received a Certificate of Recognition and a $50 gift card. In addition, Tucson Kino Rotary will donate $25 to a charity of each student’s choice.
L - R, Maria Patterson, Awards Chair; John Palacio, Kino Rotary President; 
Johnathan Joaquin Bailey, Alan Manuel Loreto, Hanna Smith, and Joscell Bailey. 
Learn more about Rotary at www.rotary.org.