Jul 16, 2020
Jim De Yoreo, Chief Scientist for Materials Scienc
Research at the intersection of biology nnd nanomaterials

Living systems make a wide range of nanostructured materials to serve functional requirements, such as water separation, energy generation. locomotion, global positioning and structural support. These materials often have a hierarchical form that endows a high level of function. Here I will talk about research aimed at understanding how these nanomaterials are formed and how we can borrow those principles to make synthetic nanomaterials.


Jim De Yoreo is a Battelle Fellow and Chief Scientist for Materials Science in the Physical and Computational Sciences Directorate at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), an Affiliate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and of Chemistry at the University of Washington, and Co-Director of the Northwest Institute for Materials Physics, Chemistry and Technology (NW IMPACT).  He received his PhD in Physics from Cornell University in 1985.  Following post-doctoral work at the University of Maine and at Princeton University, he became a member of the technical staff at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in 1989, where he held numerous positions. He joined Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in 2007 where he served as Deputy and then Interim Director of the Molecular Foundry before moving to PNNL in 2012. De Yoreo’s research has spanned a range of materials-related disciplines, focusing recently on interactions, assembly, and crystallization in inorganic, biomolecular and biomineral systems.  De Yoreo has authored, co-authored, or edited over 250 publications and patents. He is a recipient of the David Turnbull Lectureship of the Materials Research Society (MRS), the Laudise Prize of the International Organization for Crystal Growth (IOCG) and the Crystal Growth Award of the American Association for Crystal Growth (AACG). He served as President of the MRS and he is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the MRS, and a member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences and the IOCG and AACG Executive Committees.