Rotary Worcester

The first meetings were held in March 1912 and our Charter (No.51) was issued on April 24, 1912. By August of that year there were 29 members. We now have a membership of 135 (June 2014).

Worcester Rotary has helped to organize nine new clubs over the years starting with Fitchburg in 1918, Framingham 1922, Uxbridge 1926, Southbridge 1927, Webster 1928, Auburn 1944, The Brookfields 1955, Shrewsbury 1957 and The Boylstons in 1967. The club became strong enough to maintain a permanent office as early as 1916. Rev. Fenwick L. Leavitt served as Secretary from 1917 to 1950. In 1979, Worcester Rotary Club ceded the Holden territory to the Boylstons Rotary Club.
Eleven Worcester Rotarians have served Rotary International
as District Governors and as International Directors:

1921-22 Herbert C. Wilson, Governor of District 2
1922-23 Herbert C. Wilson, International Director
1929-30 Dr. Thomas F. Kenney, Governor of District 31
1938-39 Rev. Fenwick L. Leavitt, Governor of District 197
1944-45 Richard J. Rutherford, Governor of District 197
1950-51 Howard D. Williams, Governor of District 289
1956-57 Harold Woodward, Governor of District 764
1982-83 Gardner T. Pierce, Governor of District 7910
1987-88 Edward C. Hall, Governor of District 7910
1995-96 Roger W. Frost, Governor of District 7910
2014-15 Val Callahan, Governor of District 7910
- See more at:
Click HERE to read and download the Worcester Rotary Club Constitution.
Click HERE to read and download the Worcester Rotary Club Bylaws.
For more information contact 2015-2016 President Bob Mangan at