"I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way..."                  
Songwriters Michael Masser and Linda Creed

Rotary medalists from four Niagara secondary schools were recognized at the June 5th, 2006 meeting of the Rotary Club of St. Catharines South. 

Weekly Bulletin of the Rotary Club of St. Catharines South 

June 5, 2006.

Volume Nine, Meeting 34

SERVICE Above Self 

Reporter:  R. Morissette


Call to Order:
President Bob McKay 
National Anthem: Julio Batres
Toast to Queen and Canada: Jason Pollock
Invocation: John Klassen


John Teibert introduced the following guests and visiting Rotarians:
 Mr. Bob Hayward as well as Rotary medalists Trevor Fraser and Jemila Pirbhai, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School; Andrea Smerek and Wagdi Elsheikh, West Park Secondary School; Shennon Ruscitti and Steven Yungblut, Thorold Secondary School; and Charlene Viscek and Hisham Sharif, Denis Morris High School. Also present, Pat Leeming, Head of Guidance, West Park Secondary School; Mike Simpson, Principal, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School; Dennis Letourneau, Principal, Thorold Secondary School; and Moe Charbonneau, Principal, Denis Morris High School.   


Mike Grifa, serving as Sergeant-at-Arms,
his table - who seem to be hard of hearing and, as a result, were shouting at each other!
Ross Elliott - for leaving his credit card at the registration table!
Ian Forbes - for insulting Mike by asking if he used Grecian formula on his hair and for always managing to be at the head table!
Roseanne Morissette - her company recently sold Mike a Z4 (and he's enjoying it!).
Happy Dollars were accepted from:
Lynda Baiano -  who welcomed the Rotary medalists and stated how proud she is that her school placed third in the women's lightweight championships. Lynda also noted that she is happy to be at Rotary today and glad that we have not forgotten her!
Julio Batres - whose company will be participating in the June Bike Trek.
Matt Taylor - who is leaving on Friday for Copenhagen, Denmark.
Bob McBride - tickets for the Labour Day game between the Ti Cats and the Argonauts are $34 each. Bob has 35 tickets. Please let Bob know if you would like to attend. 
Paul Massuet - so nice to see a younger age group at the meeting today!


Bingo, June 10, 2006:

Greg McDonald announced that there is bingo on June 10th. Debbie Garneau and Lynda Baiano have volunteered. One more helper is needed. Delta Bingo is now smoke free!     

International Rotary Bike Trek, Saturday, June 10, 2006:

Paul Massuet reported that Saturday, June 10, 2006 is the "Best of Friends" International Rotary Bike Trek. The route follows the scenic Niagara River along the famous Niagara Parkway recreational trail from Fort George in Niagara-on-the-Lake to Niagara Falls and back. There is also a route to Queenston and back for bikers who wish to enjoy a more leisurely outing. All riders are expected to raise pledges. Half of the money raised will come back to our club. Registration is from 8 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Please email Paul with the amount of money you have collected and bring a photocopy of your pledge sheet on Saturday.

Club Picnic at Paul and Mimi Massuet's house June 25th, 2006, 3 pm:

Paul and Mimi Massuet will once again host a picnic for our club members on June 25th, 2006, commencing at 3 p.m.

Inner Wheel:

Jim Howes explained that Inner Wheel is open to wives or widows of Rotarians.
Inner Wheel as an organization - its name emphasizing the strong links it maintains with Rotary - was formed in 1924. Today, it is an international service organization operating in more than 95 countries with a membership close to 100,000. The Inner Wheel badge is seen as a symbol of international understanding, friendship, and service.

Inner Wheel Club of St. Catharines was chartered on November 7, 1997. With various fundraising events in the past eight years, the Club was able to donate almost $11,000 to local and international charities. At the present time, the Club has set a goal to raise $8,000 or more over the next eight years for the new Niagara Health System hospital, specifically for breast cancer research and kidney dialysis.

The Inner Wheel Club is looking for new members. For information, please contact Margaret Kirkwood at 905-892-2450 or Anne Ashdown at 905-685-1128.

Ambassadorial Scholarship Program:

Andrew Bowles announced that this past weekend he attended a Rotary District 7090 Ambassadorial Scholarship selection committee meeting where an ambassadorial scholar - Miss Ash - was selected for 2007-2008. This young woman, who will be an excellent representative for our district, will receive $26,000 U.S.

The Rotary Foundation's oldest and best-known program is Ambassadorial Scholarships. Since 1947 nearly 37,000 men and women from 100 nations have studied abroad under its auspices. Today it is the world's largest privately funded international scholarships program.

The Ambassadorial Scholarship candidate must possess excellent leadership skills and potential; understand the award obligations, especially speeches to Rotary and non-Rotary audiences; have a proven record of success in academics and/or vocation; be articulate and possess good proficiency in the study country language; and be well-groomed and have a professional appearance.

Card of Thanks:
Tom Schulz announced that a card of thanks was received from our Slapshot Leadership Program participants, Michelle Honsberger and Samantha Green. 

RYLA - positions still available:

Tom advised that although the deadline for RYLA applications has gone by, there are still positions available.
Upcoming Events:

June 12th - Debbie Garneau's Classification Talk
June 19th - Paul Harris Fellowship awards

Friendly Visiting:

If you know of any member (or family member) of our club who is sick,
please advise President Bob McKay or President Elect Matt Taylor.


President Bob noted two birthdays, but the members were not present to be recognized.   

50/50 DRAW

Norris Brown had the winning ticket, but did not draw the winning card.  


The following members expressed their regrets to our President and Rotary medalists and took early leave: Brian Radford, George Fitzpatrick, and Andrew Bowles. 


Ian Forbes, Chair of the Rotary Medals Committee, welcomed all the Rotary medalists and their sponsors/chaperones. Ian praised each medalist for their phenomenal achievements, integrity, and work ethics. 

Rotary medalists had a chance to introduce their fellow students and to explain why each is so deserving of this award. 

Congratulations to Trevor Fraser, Jemila Pirbhai, Andrea Smerek, Wagdi Elsheikh, Shennon Ruscitti, Steven Yungblut, Charlene Viscek, and Hisham Sharif. 

All Rotary medalist will be formally recognized at their upcoming graduation ceremonies.

President Bob thanked Ian for all his hard work.


Norris Brown reported 22 members and five make-ups for 75 per cent attendance. 


As there was no further business for the good of Rotary, President Bob adjourned the meeting at 1:30 p.m.