Weekly Bulletin of the

Rotary Club of St. Catharines South   

July 7, 2008


Call to Order : President June Manning

Anthem : George Fitzpatrick

Toast:      Ian Forbes

Grace:  Matt Taylor


Visitor Introduction : John D'Ambrosio welcomed no guests today as there were none!


Sargeant-at-Arms : George Fitzpatrick collected Happy Dollars from many with the focus being given to the picnic at Paul and Mimi's home last Sunday. Several nice comments - all deserved. Paul replied with thanks and gave his happy dollar for the invite to the Inner Wheel Day at the Races at Fort Erie. They were happy to be there with the Browns. Cathy Henry was happy to read a note from Sheila Bristo on the Jamaica Playground project and to thank her for her check!




Dan Toppari used the opportunity to let us know that Sue Augustine is our speaker July 28th and that we are encouraged to bring guests. Business associates and family are welcome. Sue normally charges up to $5000 as a motivational speaker and is well worth hearing.


Jim Hooper explained the new Bingo sign up process and let us know that we all must do at least one Bingo as we have one every second week now and they are a great source of income for our club. There is no smoking at Bingo now so there are no excuses! Sign up now for your choice or let Jim, Don Beard or Sheila tell you when your Bingo is.


Jason Pollock will be looking for volunteers for the Ribfest on the August Civic Holiday Weekend. We will be selling Glowsticks again on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings and 50/50 tickets on Friday Evening.


Cathy Henry announced the Henley Honda car Rally in aid of Gillian's Place. October 5th is the date and she thinks we should get a group out!


New Board Induction:


The venerable Norris Brown officiated in the induction of the new Board for the 2008-2009 club year. Norris congratulated June on her fine year and contribution to the club and challenged Greg and his new board to guide our club to the highest standards.


Please see the photo journal on the website home page for pics. There are some new titles and committee structures as implemented by Rotary International and your new board is as follows:


President                                              Greg MacDonald

Past President                                       June Manning

President Elect                                      Paul Monaghan

Treasurer                                              Debbie Garneau

Secretary                                              John Teibert

Community Services Project Director    John D'Ambrosio

International Services Director               Lataetia de Wit

Club Administration                               Jason Pollock

Rotary Foundation Director                    Sheila Bristo

Public Relations Director                        Cathy Henry