EURILLA (former Bonython residence)

 
After several weeks of planning and lingering doubts about the weather and just how many people would turn up all was revealed on Sunday the 27th of October at our first ever Open Garden Fund Raising Event. It was a very successful day and almost 300 enthusiasts roamed the magnificent gardens of Eurilla.
 
The weather was kind to us for most of the day and those of us who experienced the early mist and drizzle felt it actually added to the ambience of the surroundings. Later in the day the sun came out and it ended up being a glorious Spring day.
 
Eurilla was built in 1884 for Sir William and Lady Milne and was sold to Sir Lavington Bonython in 1917 and was used as a Summer residence by the family for the next seventy years. It was then purchased by the current owners.
 
The Ash Wednesday bush fires in 1983 all but destroyed the majority of the garden and the house itself suffered tremendous damage causing the removal of the upper storey. Only the tower and the bottom two floors remained until 2007 when the top storey was rebuilt. The current owners have lovingly restored the property and have embarked upon a substantial replanting of the garden.
 
Thanks go to the current  owners and the many members of the Hyde Park Rotary Club and friends who helped make this a very successful and enjoyable Fund Raising Event to help the homeless in Adelaide. Thanks also to the CWA who provided a delicious Devonshire Tea - a perfect compliment to a beautiful garden experience.
 
Click on Read More to view more pictures