Created with flickr slideshow.

November 18, 2019    

Opening :
Due to a full meeting schedule today, President Cathy opened the meeting early at 1225.  The Rotary Brass accompanied the singing of God Bless America followed by a “Student of the Month” themed invocation by Paul Grey.
2020-2021 Nominations were announced and elections will be held December 9, 2019
President:  Gary Goldfogel
President-Elect:  Peter Theisen
VP/Program Chairman:  Paul Grey
Treasurer: Steve Gray

Board of Directors:  (vote for 2) John Pedlow and Steve Hettick


The Board of Directors met Thursday and approved the following Membership Proposal:
The following membership proposal was approved by the Classification Committee and RCOB Board of Directors for Joseph Bacchus Taylor proposed by Dick Tucker and Monty McAllister to fill the classification of “Education-Explorations Academy Exec. Dir.”
He will be eligible for membership on December 9th, unless written objection is received on or before December 1, 2019 by Exec. Sec. Sandra Lindhout, 2200 Vining St., Bellingham 98229
FOOTBALL POOL NUMBERS:  Seahawks vs Eagles Click Here
Ken Marzocco is reminding members to donate to the  Club’s major fund project, the Recovery House on Girard Street.  He urged members to get their pledge forms in.  Click Here
Website and Phone App instructions:
Here is a tutorial on how to login for the first time.  (Click here)  In order to login you need to know your user name and password in your Clubrunner account.  The user name is Yourfirstname.Lastname.264 unless you have changed it.  Example: Sandra.Lindhout.264  The password is initially set by clubrunner at 264 unless you have changed it.  Sandee can see your Username from my computer but not the password.  She can also change your password for you from her computer at your request if you run into problems.
Once you have originally created your User Name and Password you can download the ClubRunner Mobile app on your phone:                                                                
Here is a link for you to take a look at the app:

Please contact Sandee at 360-734-5532 or if you run into any trouble.
Guests of Rotarians:  
Brad Burdick introduced Bacchus Taylor with Explorations Academy
Felicity Dye introduced our Exchange Students Aramis Melgarejo and Emma Starke

Monty McAllister brought our newest outgoing exchange student Owen Cool and his parents Sean & Melinda Cool
High School Student Presentations:
Bellingham High School:
Julia Schwartz - Math:  Introduced by James Pyles.  James also introduced his parents Greg and Miriam Schwartz
Oliver Wermus - Science:  Unable to attend but Chuck Snyder introduced
Maxwell Suwarno - Music:  Introduced by Kim Perry.  Max also introduced his Mother Kateri Stommes
Options High School:
Kitara Fox - Math:   Introduced by Tom Grinstad and parent Kari McKenzie and teacher Kai Kane-Ronning
Finnian Towle - Science:  Introduced by Nancy Jordan and parent Kimberly Towle and teacher Stephenie Burgess

Sehome High School:
Jaechan Lee - Math:  Introduced by Megan Stanfield and parents Chang-Wook Lee and Ju-Youn Lee
Anishka Duggal - Science:  Introduced by Cathy Buckley and parents Subodh & Sue Duggal
Lainie Mueller - Music:  Introduced by Arlie Norman and Dad Karl Mueller, Uncle Paul Mueller and accompanist Iain Tarves.  If the name sounds familier long time former member, Paul Mueller is related.
Squalicum High School:
Addison Shrock - Math:  Introduced by Paul Grey and parents Joseph and Suanne Shrock
Lukas Nickelson - Science:  Introduced by Jeffery Garrett and parents Brett and Susan Nickelson
Jacob Lann - Music:  Introduced by John Pedlow and  parents Mark and Heidi Lann
New Member Induction:  John Mahoney, proposed by John Macpherson and Tim Farris to fill the classification of “Engineering-Design.”  John is the incoming president of Anvil Corporation.  Past President Tim Farris gave the charge of RCOB membership.


Student Presentations in Music, Math and Science, presented by Kim Perry
The committee has changed the name several times, now calling it "High School Student Recognition Program". The format has been changed to place it under program time now, combining subjects into 2-3 per programs and doing 3 per year.  The aim is to give the students the time needed to honor them correctly.
BHS – Maxwell Suwarno (singing)  ( Host: Kim Perry)
Sehome – Elaine Mueller (singing)  (Host: Arlie Norman)
Squalicum – Jacob Lann (cello)  (Host: John Pedlow)
Each performed a short piece.
BHS – Julia Schwartz  (Host: James Pyles)
Options – Kitara Fox  (Host: Tom Grinstad)
Sehome – Jaechan Lee  (Host: Megan Stanfield)
Squalicum – Addison Shrock. (Host: Paul Grey)
BHS – Oliver Wermus  (Host: Chuck Snyder)
Options – Finnian Towle  (Host: Nancy Jordon)
Sehome – Anishka Duggal  (Host: Cathy Buckley)
Squalicum – Lukas Nickelson  (Host: Jefferey Garrett)

Note:  Your reporter received a one to three-page resume on each student.  The contents of each were generally so extensive and overwhelming that even to share highlights would be too lengthy to merit inclusion.  Suffice it to say that each individual was eminently qualified to receive recognition today. We hope the students felt properly honored. These young people should have recognition for their accomplishments.

Dec 09, 2019
Dr. Greg Baker, Superintendent - Bellingham School District
Dec 16, 2019
The Dance Studio - "Savings Christmas Town"
Dec 16, 2019
Cal Mann with Rotary-Peace Corps Partnership
Dec 23, 2019
Holiday - Christmas Holiday
View entire list
Upcoming Events
RCOB Board Meeting
Bellingham Legal Center
Dec 12, 2019
4:30 PM – 6:00 PM
RCOB Board Meeting
Bellingham Legal Center
Jan 09, 2020
4:30 PM – 6:00 PM
Rotary Field Trip to Archives Bldg.
Goltz-Murray Archives Bldg.
Jan 23, 2020 12:00 PM
Ski Trip to Steamboat Springs
Feb 05, 2020 – Feb 09, 2020
RCOB Board Meeting
Bellingham Legal Center
Feb 13, 2020
4:30 PM – 6:00 PM
Feb 23, 2020
View entire list
Interested in being a sponsor?
Download the website sponsorship guide
Editor:  Tom Grinstad
Reporter:  Doug Cole
Invocation:  Paul Grey
Greeter:  Jan Marchbanks, Andy Day, Sara Maloney, Gail Ridenour and Kathy Hughes
Greeter & Announcer:  Susie Thomson
Raffle:  Brad Burdick
AV:  Jamie Vos
Photographer & Social Media: Mike Diehl & Shauna Naf
Minister of Fun:  Kirstin Hunt
Music:  Rotary Brass
Executives & Directors
President Elect
Executive Secretary
Vice President/Program Chair
Past President
Director/Vocational Service & Membership
Director/Community Service
Director/International & Youth Service
Director/Club Service & Meetings
Website Administer